Little Stars Childminding - Buckingham

Early Years Foundation Stage - EYFS


All providers of childcare together with playgroups, nurseries and schools up to the end of reception, are required by ofsted to follow a statutory framework called the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).  In 2012 the framework was revised to make it clearer and easier to use, with more focus on the things that matter most. This new framework also has a greater emphasis on your role in helping your child develop. This framework has been revised again in Septmeber 2014 and you can view or download a copy at 


As your childminder I will be helping your child to learn and achieve by tracking their development through the EYFS. I will do this by carrying out observations, assessments and planning to create an online learning portfolio for you to share with your child. I will be asking you to contribute to your childs online learning journey and you can read more about how you can do this in my EYFS Policy and Online EYFS Portfolio Policy.


There are four overarching principles to the EYFS – A Unique Child, Positive Relationships, Enabling Environments and Learning and Development.


As part of the Learning and Development theme there are 7 areas split into Prime and Specific:-

 Prime Areas

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and emotional Development

Specific Areas



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design


You can find the Early Years Foundation Stage which includes the early learning goals at The foundation years website also includes a range of resources and contacts.